Monday Morning Photography

In the dahlia garden…

Mendocino Botanical Gardens was founded in 1961 and held it’s grand opening five years later. I can say beyond a shadow of a doubt that it is worth the price of admission year ’round. Fall happens to be one of our favorite times to visit; mushroom hunting in the redwoods is incredible fun, but the other reason is the gardens yearly dahlia display.

dsc_0137

The website states there are over 400 individual plants from 150 varieties, and while the space it occupies in the garden is relatively small, it’s easy for an artist or photographer to loose an hour or more as they move from blossom to blossom.

dsc_0127

My husband and I make sure to stop at the gardens any time we’re in Fort Bragg, and always try to schedule a trip in the late summer or early fall so that we can catch the display.

It’s raining again, and the skies will most likely give us another twelve inches of precipitation over the next few days. We’ll see what gets washed away with this next storm.

dsc_0120dsc_0109

I began work on the third draft of my novel last week, and am relieved that I (for the first time in attempting this) actually agree with what I wrote for the first chapter. It’s been a long road *ques awful 90’s Star Trek theme* but after two years of work I almost feel like I know how to actually write.

On a side note- I played my first ever game of Dungeons and Dragons Saturday night and adored it. I expected to have fun, I didn’t expect to loose two hours in an eye blink and fall into the persona of an extroverted Moon Elf Warlock Sage with such ease. I went to work and told the Non-Awesome Masses to prepare my crown, for I now sit on the Pinnacle of Nerdom. They went home and watched something they called the Super… Bowl? As far I can tell there are no bowls or action hero’s involved in it. Now, if you’ll excuse me- I must attend to my WoW dailies.

You can find out more about the Mendocino Botanical Gardens here. And here is their dahlia page. It’s also a wonderful place for begonias, fuchsias, magnolias, camellias, and coastal rhododendrons. They also have a heritage rose garden that contains many varieties grown from cuttings taken from abandoned homesites up and down the California coast.

Hope your day is lovely and if it’s not… well, make it so.

Leave a Reply

